New York State Standards

  • New York State Learning Standards

    For Family and Consumer Sciences (FACS)


    Home and Career Skills: NYS mandate for grades 5 through 8!  

    STANDARD 1: Personal Health and Fitness

    • Students will have the necessary knowledge and skills to establish and maintain physical fitness, participate in physical activity, and maintain personal health.

    STANDARD 2: A Safe and Healthy Environment

    • Students will acquire the knowledge and ability necessary to create and maintain a safe and healthy environment.
    STANDARD 3:  Resource Management

    • Students will understand and be able to manage their personal and community resources.


    Career Development and Occupational Studies (CDOS):  NYS mandate for grades 5 through 8!

    STANDARD 1:  Career Development

    • Students will be knowledgeable about the world of work, explore career options, and relate personal skills, aptitudes, and abilities to future career decisions.

    STANDARD 2:  Integrated Learning

    • Students will demonstrate how academic knowledge and skills are applied in the workplace and other settings.

    STANDARD 3a:  Universal Foundation Skills

    • Students will demonstrate mastery of the foundation skills and competencies essential for success in the workplace.