9-12 Overview


    The Digital Citizenship framework for grades 9-12 focus on themes most relevant to students between the ages of 14-18. The framework is divided into three modules centered around the REPs from the Nine Themes of Digital Citizenship:

    • Module 1 -  Self Image & Identity

    • Module 2 - Relationships & Community

    • Module 3 - Digital Footprint

    Each module focuses on different 2-3 day lessons. Coupled with each lesson from www.commonsensemedia.org are ideas for followup activities focusing on creating digitial products. There will be some thematic overlap between lessons and modules giving the teacher the opportunity to discuss other important concepts not directly taught in a lesson in instances where time will not allow for a more thorough coverage of the modules/lessons. All lessons are aligned to four strands of the CCLS with particular emphasis on reading literature and informational text; writing informative text to examine and convey complex ideas; using technology to produce, edit, and publish writing products; and writing narratives using effective techniques and well-structured sequences.


    12th Grade PIG Teachers, Health Instructors, Literacy Coaches


    4 modules - approximately 1-2 lessons each spanning about 1 - 2 days, spread throughout the year.


    • grades 9-10: RL.4, RL.10, RI.4, RI.10, SL.1a-d, SL.2-5, L.4a, L.6

    • grades 11-12: RL.4, RL.10, RI.4, RI.10, SL.1a-d, SL.2-5, L.4a, L.6

    • NETS•S: 1a-d, 2a, 2d, 3a, 3b, 4a, 4b, 4d, 5a-c