• Welcome

     

  • Staff Directory
     
    Assistant Superintedent of Special Education
    Kim Hoelscher
    School 12/ Math Science Technology School 197
    33 Ash Street 14204/646 East Delevan 14215
    716-816-4732
    khoelscher@buffaloschools.org
     
     
    Director--Instructional Programs
    Robyn Tate
    Math Science Technology School 197--Room 132
    646 East Delevan Avenue 14215
    716-816-3529
    rtate@buffaloschools.org
     
    Supervisor--Special Education Placement
    Erin Barren
    School 12
    33 Ash Street 14204
    716-816-4746
    ebarren@buffaloschools.org
     
     
    Supervisor--Committee on Special Education
    Nicole Donegan
    Math Science Technology School 197--Room 219
    646 East Delevan Avenue 14215
    716-816-3139
    ndonegan@buffaloschools.org
     
    Supervisor--Committee on Special Education
    Dr. Jennifer L. Jones, Ph.D
    Math Science Technology School 197--Room 219
    646 East Delevan Avenue 14215
    716-816-3939
    jljones@buffaloschools.org
     
    Supervisor--Instructional Programs
    Dr. Toni Mixon, Ph.D
    Math Science Technology School 197--Room 221
    646 East Delevan Avenue 14215
    716-816-4012
    tmixon@buffaloschools.org
     
    Supervisor--Related Services and Medicaid
    Deanna Rivera
    Math Science Technology School 197--Room 219
    646 East Delevan Avenue 14215
    716-816-7931
    drivera@buffaloschools.org
     
    Supervisor--Staffing and Instructional Programs
    Katie Wilbert
    Math Science Technology School 197--Room 221
    646 East Delevan Avenue 14215
    716-816-3566
    kwilbert@buffaloschools.org
     
     
    SESIS--Special Education School Improvement Specialists 
    Buffalo City RSE-TASC-- Regional Special Education Technical Assistance Support Center
    Math Science Technology School 197, Room 131
    646 East Delavan Avenue
    Buffalo, New York 14215
     
    Cynthia Clark
    716-816-7605
    caclark@buffaloschools.org
     
    Melanie Koch
    716-816-4801
    mkoch@buffaloschools.org
     
    Gina Kuper
    716-816-4425
    gkuper@buffaloschool.org
     
    Special Education Coach
    Math Science Technology School 197, Room 131
    646 East Delavan Avenue
    Buffalo, New York 14215
    Anita Martell
    716-816-3393
    ammartell@buffaloschools.org
     
    Special Education Department Clerical Staff
     
    Liz Ali
    Community Education Leader
    716-816-4736
    lrivera@buffaloschools.org
     
    Cheryl DiPalma
    Administrative Assistant
    716-816-3619
    cdipalma@buffaloschools.org
     
    Laura Lavis
    Account Clerk Typist
    716-816-3566
    llavis@buffaloschools.org
     
    Lauren-Marie Pratt
    Senior Account Clerk Typist
    716-816-4801
    lpratt@buffaloschools.org
     
    Kelly Waldraff
    Senior Stenographer
    716-816-4746
    kwaldraff@buffaloschools.org
  • Vision

     

    The Buffalo Public Schools Special Education Department will be nationally known for systematic implementation of practices that produce substantial gains in self-advocacy, specially designed instruction and appropriate instruction for career development and work-based learning.

     

    Mission

    The BPS Special Education Department supports students and families by providing an educational foundation that enables students to think, communicate, and apply skills in the real world.


    This web page provides information on a variety of topics relating to special education for parents, students and the BPS community.

    Each one of our schools has a Student Support Team (SST).  The SST is a group of educational professionals who assist parents and staff when a student experiences difficulties in school.  SST members include a Psychologist, Social Worker and School Counselor, and others.

    Our Student Support Team is a problem solving team that:

    • generates ideas that will help students succeed in school,
    • suggests specially designed instruction for students resistant to traditional teaching and /or classroom management techniques
    • assists with implementation of academic &/or behavior interventions intended to promote student's success in school.

    Contact the Student Support Team by calling the main number at the school. There are posters in the main office of every school with contact information!

    Committee on Special Education - CSE 

    Every school has a CSE Chairperson that facilitates the process to ensure compliance with Federal and State Regulations.  Contact the school to contact the CSE Chair.

    Letter to Parents regarding CSE Chairpersons

     
    Attention Parents!
    If you are a resident of this school district and you have placed, or are considering placing, your child who has a disability or is suspected of having a disability in a nonpublic school for which you would be paying tuition, the letter available below contains information important for you to know.

    CLICK HERE to download the letter to Parents who place their Children in Nonpublic Schools.

    Flyer

    CLICK HERE to download the flyer: Parent Chats!